Charka's XS1100G Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charka's XS1100G Build

I'd been wanting to build an xs11 standard for a while, and I've finally found time and parts to start. Decided to do a build thread as I've never done one before and a few people have asked.
    Heres first day; I found a titled basket case in november. Previous owner was the second owner and had it for decades. All the individual parts are very clean; chrome is all very nice. He told me he tore it down to repaint; the purple is what he did to it. I've found out since then the real reason he tore it down, but that was later.

The purple paint job was actually done fairly well, but was not at all for me. I tried stripping down to the original paint underneath, but it wasnt working, so I had the tank burned at my local machine shop (they have a kiln for things like this).
    When I got it back I fell in love with the look it had and decided to stay with it.
    My initial intentions for the bike was an original paint restomod, but the tank changed direction for me and I decided to just go full custom.

Comment

After much debate I ordered a seat. Texavina was the brand, I believe. They have lots of options for xs1100s. I'll be chopping and welding the frame a tiny bit to make a clean fitment.
      During this time I was also ordering all the other new parts I'd be needing and cleaning up parts that came with the bike (grinding casting marks off, sandblasting, filing, etc.)

Comment

Found a nice set of carbs from a 1995 GPZ1100 that I'm going to attempt to use and thoroughly cleaned them.

Comment

Bought some special rotors, had them and the wheels soda blasted. Was originally going to paint the wheels to look original with black insets, but after getting them back decided to keep them raw.
          Painted the rotors gold and cleared the wheels with a two part, hardened clear.

Comment