Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XS11 back from the brink.

Hi,

Finally got my new toy delivered from up the coast. 1979 standard with 31000 miles. It's a project but pretty solid. Needs some parts and a replacement head Previous owner had the cam chain tensioner fail. I have located a low mileage head from an 81 with a set of cylinders. Not sure if I will do the cylinder and rings at this point. The original has never been off.

I plan to bring it mostly back to stock with some reversible mods. Paint for sure but probably not a stock colour.

For right now I need turn signals, rear master cylinder, a chrome front fender and original handle bars.

Can I get the front fender and signals off a xs650? What about the rear master brake cylinder?

I am a XS11 noob, but I pick up quick.

Thanks!
    Living to EXcess.
    1978 XS1100E Canadian, Cartridge emulators, NOS heavy duty fork springs,
    Showa rear shocks, ACCT, Jardine 4-2 spaghetti pipes.
    1979 XS1100F Canadian, stock exhaust. Top end rebuild in progress.

The 78-79 and 80-81 used different heads. The later head has larger valves (so check piston to valve clearance at the valve reliefs on the piston tops) and a larger combustion chamber, so you'll lose compression with the early pistons. More details here: http://www.xs11.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36652

By the way, welcome and you have a very nice bike to start with...
    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick any two

'78E original owner - resto project
    '78E ???? owner - Modder project FJ forks, 4-piston calipers F/R, 160/80-16 rear tire
    '82 XJ rebuild project
    '80SG restified, red SOLD
    '79F parts...
    '81H more parts...

Other current bikes:
    '93 XL1200 Anniversary Sportster 85RWHP
    '86 XL883/1200 Chopper
    '82 XL1000 w/1450cc Buell, Baker 6-speed, in-progress project
    Cage: '13 Mustang GT/CS with a few 'custom' touches
    Yep, can't leave nuthin' alone...

Comment