Help, Gas coming out of Airbox?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help, Gas coming out of Airbox?

I am new to motorcycles and have purchased a 79 XS1100 Special.

I just purchased new carb holders because I saw gas below carbs and mine are cracked some. Today I went to move the bike, but when I went to start it, notice Gas coming out of the bottom of what I believe to be the Airbox. item that is behind the carbs. I did see that I left the fuel shut off valve in the on position and its been sitting for probably 4-5 days.

My question : is the gas coming out of there due to the cracked carb holder boots and the fact that I left the gas on or is there something else going on as well?

Thank you in advance.

Steve
    79 XS1100 SF

Float valves

You have a float valve that is sticking open. Try tapping on the float bowls and see if it will stop. I would also check the oil and make sure you did not get gas in the crankcase.
    Dale
    78 XS1100E Standard
    Coca Cola Red
    Hooker Headers

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/p...m/DSC00580.jpg

1979 XS1100 Special
    http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/p...m/DSC00612.jpg

1980 XS Standard
    http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/p...m/DSC01137.jpg

2006 Roadstar Warrior
    http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/p...um/warrior.jpg

Comment

For some reason your float needles are not seating properly. If it was just a little gas then I am guessing there is something small holding it open or the needles just do not seat completely due to age and wear.

It is something that needs to be fixed because gas in the oil is not a good thing!
      Nathan
      KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
      K&N Filter
      #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
      OEM Exhaust
      ATK Fork Brace
      LED Dash lights
      Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
      SS Brake Lines
      Vision 550 Auto Tensioner