Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Half of engine not firing

Hello!

I'm in the process of purchacing an 81 1100 Midnight Special. I have limited experience fixing motorcycle engines, but I think the problems this bike has are simple to fix.

The previous owner took very good care of the bike and stored it in his basement... but the current owner left the bike outside under a roof, with no walls all winter. During this time, the pipes were removed - so although no rain had landed anywhere on the bike, there was very high humidity. (Live on an island where only 4 weeks of snow in winter - the rest is rainfall)

The body and engine look mint.

Looking from the back of the bike the two right cylinders do not fire. All four plugs have spark. The current ownder has done almost nothing to correct the problem and wants to sell it.

I told him that as long as there is no rust in the engine, I will buy it.

I assume its two gunked up carbs, possibly all four have some gunk.... Could this be a bigger issue? If it might be expensive fix I do not want the bike. However, if all I have to do is remove and clean the carbs or change a couple gaskets, I will buy the bike.

All info/advice appriciated!!
    Adrian
    Stock XS1100LH 1981 Midnight Special

If the price is right and/or you like the bike........

MNS's are not to common. I you have one in good physical shape the effort to get it back in shape would probably be worth the effort. These bikes really are a hands-on proposition. Sweat equity is a good way to put it.

If the bike has set for an extended period the carbs would be a good bet.

There are a ton of people here who have a lot more experience with this than I.

Oh, by the way welcome!
    RIP Whiskers (Shop Boss) 25+yrs

"It doesn't hurt until you find out no one is looking"

Everything on hold...

Comment

Hi Adrian,
      welcome to the board.