Cylinder #1 is 'cold'-- Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cylinder #1 is 'cold'-- Help!

Hi all, I have a '79F, and #1 cylinder is cold. I will bullet mark all pertinent info. I have been wrenching on bikes for over 50 years, but I am stumped. Thanks for your help.
    --all cylinder show nearly 145lbs compression.
    --I cleaned the carb 3X (correctly)
    --vacuum lines are good, and correctly connected
    --spark plug is good. I have connected a plug (outside the cylinder) when running, and it's firing a white spark appropriately.
    --ran fine when I stored it last season, and I got it ready to go for some Fall rides a couple weeks ago, so it sat since last winter
    --put hand on carb throat inlet, and didn't affect the running too much, and some fuel leaked from it. Carb is getting fuel, as I drained the bowl each time I removed carb bank, and bowl is full each time.
    --Put hand on other carbs, and RPMs slowed way down

Any more info, and I'll pop back on and add it. Could it be an intake valve issue? I am stumped!
    79 F
    Previously owned: (among others)
    1969 Harley- Davidson Rapido 125 (Aermacchi)
    1967 Suzuki X6 Hustler
    1973 Suzuki TM 125
    1979 XS1100 F
    2005 Kaw. Vulcan VN800
    1991 BMW K75

When cleaning the carbs, did you remove the pilot jet (one down in the tunnel) to clean it and verify, holding up to the light, making sure the nozzle is clear? How about over 4K RPM, does it heat up then?
    2H7 (79)
    3H3

"If it ain't broke, modify it"

Comment

Yup-- emulsion tube was clean, I ran a thin wire through just in case-- all was clear. Another point, less suction on #1 carb inlet than others, showing less vacuum, which could be telling it's not getting fuel to whole carb jets, just the float bowl.
      79 F
      1967 Suzuki X6 Hustler
      1973 Suzuki TM 125
      1979 XS1100 F
      2005 Kaw. Vulcan VN800
      1991 BMW K75

Comment

Not the emulsion tube, the low speed pilot jet, as shown...