aluminum oxidation tip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• aluminum oxidation tip

I am in the process of restoring an 81 xs1100. I am also a college student. While attending my chemistry lab one day we were do reactions with chemicals and metals, more specifically aluminum. When sodium hydroxide was added to the aluminum there was a very slight bubbling observed (O2). Our professor told us however that there should be no reaction, but if we saw something it was reacting with the oxide (Al2O3) not the metal. I spoke to her after class and she told me that Drano was primarily sodium hydroxide and that it should work great for removing the oxidation. I tried it briefly and it does seem to work. Just look for the one that has sodium hydroxide listed as the main ingredient (first). She also said that the lye drain cleaners should work even better, I'll keep you all posted.
    '81 XS1100 SH

Melted to the ground during The Valley Fire

Sep. 12th 2015

RIP

Very dangerous stuff. Be careful.

Randy

Comment

When I was a kid, we used to make hydrogen by putting aluminum foil, Drano and water in a bottle. If you then stick a balloon over the opening of the bottle, you get a hydrogen filled balloon. After filling the balloon, we would tie a knot in the balloon and attach a fuse to it. It makes a BIG BANG when the burning fuse gets to the balloon.
      Bill Murrin
      Nashville, TN
      1981 XS1100SH "Kick in the Ass"
      1981 XS650SH "Numb in the Ass"
      2005 DL1000 V-Strom "WOW"
      2005 FJR1300 Newest ride
      1993 ST1100 "For Sale $2,700" (Sold)
      2005 Ninja 250 For Sale $2,000 1100 miles

Comment

Correction

You are indeed right. I did some more research and the reaction does give off H2 gas. Still, it works great. Just work in well ventilated area away from ignition sources. Sorry 'bout the miss info.
        '81 XS1100 SH

Sep. 12th 2015

RIP

Comment