? about jetting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ? about jetting

Hi all, noob here. Thanks for the add! Bought and XS11 couple weeks back and tearing down a but to customize. I'm replacing the stock 4-2 exhaust with the Mac 4-2 turnout exhaust. I went to a Dealer the other day and he scared the bejeezus out of me when I asked him about pricing for tuning and told him about this exhaust mod. He made it sound like the worst thing I could do and would probably be 5 hours of billed labor ($95/hr!) to test and tune to get jets right. And that everytime the temp changes, I'll be back.

My question is,.....the Mac and stock exhaust are both 4-2 baffle systems. How much different can they really be? I live in NJ where temps go from 50-90 from spring to fall.

Thanks and look forward to getting to know you guys!
    Rob - 79 SF

There are a lot of people here who would kill for a stock exhaust!

The MAC should work OK and you tune it yourself. We're here for you.
    Marty (in Mississippi)
    XS1100SG
    XS650SK
    XS650SH
    XS650G
    XS6502F
    XS650E

Comment

Originally posted by mrhammer2u View Post
      Hi all, noob here. Thanks for the add! Bought and XS11 couple weeks back and tearing down a but to customize. I'm replacing the stock 4-2 exhaust with the Mac 4-2 turnout exhaust. I went to a Dealer the other day and he scared the bejeezus out of me when I asked him about pricing for tuning and told him about this exhaust mod. He made it sound like the worst thing I could do and would probably be 5 hours of billed labor ($95/hr!) to test and tune to get jets right. And that everytime the temp changes, I'll be back.

My question is,.....the Mac and stock exhaust are both 4-2 baffle systems. How much different can they really be? I live in NJ where temps go from 50-90 from spring to fall.

Thanks and look forward to getting to know you guys!
      Ask those that run them.....BA80 comes to mind, and IIRC.......no change needed to.