Marvel mystery oil

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marvel mystery oil

First off please remember I'm new to the motorcycle world, but I did something really stupid and I need to know how bad the consequences might be.

So I added about 16 ounces or more of Marvel mystery oil to my XS' gas tank and the other 4-8 ounces to the oil, why I did it isn't important. I thought I was helping my bike because my Dad use to make me add it to my car and we'd dump the whole bottle in. Force of habit brought this mistake about. How bad is it gonna ruin my engine and or carbs and or anything I'm unaware of. Did it yesterday, bike barely started today but with some carb cleaner spray on the pods it started up. It's running but it's not running as well as it was. Anyone who can tell me what I should do or knows what's the best step forward please lend a hand. I'm learning (apparently the hard way) but learning none the less.
    79 XS 1100 midnight special frame with an 81 XS 1100 engine or as I like to call it "Mad Max".

Just empty the tank, refill it with fresh fuel then run the bike. I doubt you have done any damage!
    XS1100F 1980 European model. Standard. Dyna coils. Iridium plugs. XS750 final drive (sometimes). Micron fork brace. Progressive front springs. Geezer regulator/rectifier. Stainless 4 into 2 exhaust. Auto CCT (Venturer 1300) SOLD. New project now on the go. 1980 European model.

Comment

plus 1

on what James said. Siphon as much gas as you can out of the tank and top back off with fresh and let is cycle through. Fortunately the marvel is combustible. I have been using this product for years, albeit, not in the amount you are experiencing and it has never done any damage. Been using it in all my bikes.
      2 - 80 LGs bought one new
      81 LH
      02 FXSTB Nighttrain
      22 FLTRK Road Glide Limited
      Jim

Comment

Originally posted by James England View Post