79' Fuse box

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 79' Fuse box

Hi Guys - It's been awhile since I've been here and miss all the forum talk. You all are great!

And now that I've sucked up a bit here's my question....haha

My headlight was going on and then off and then on and then off for good. Put a new fuse in and it would work for a day or two and then nothing. After a quick look at the routing of the wires I found the connection under the seat had been worn and it was grounding out, hence the popping of the fuse. It looks like the fuse block is damaged now where the headlight fuse goes. If I put even the slightest pressure on the headlight fuse it emits a small amount of spark. I'm not a rocket scientist but, this doesn't seem good to me. I removed the fuse block and it looks like it got really hot. You can see burnt material (I'm guessing it's nylon or bakeolite or something). So my question is:

Does this look like a worthwhile replacement or is it beyond what you should pay for a new fuse block?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/230681739770...S:1123&vxp=mtr

Thanks for any comments!!!!
    1979 XS1100 Special
    Jardine spaghetti pipes
    Chrome billet mirrors
    Custom seat (not sure who did it)
    Custom highway pegs (not sure on the maker)
    Braided lines
    Removable windscreen
    Iso grips

Just get hold of TC and get one of his fuse blocks. Best 10 bucks you will ever spend on electrical on the old girls.
    2-79 XS1100 SF
    2-78 XS1100 E Best bike Ever
    80 XS 1100 SG Big bore kit but not fully running yet.
    Couple of more parts bikes of which 2 more will live!

Comment

Originally posted by Twanginblues View Post
      Does this look like a worthwhile replacement or is it beyond what you should pay for a new fuse block?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/230681739770...S:1123&vxp=mtr

Thanks for any comments!!!!
      $47.99 !???!!! What a rip! Buy one from TC, less money, better product.
      Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick any two