air box full of oil!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• air box full of oil!

here's one for you, fellas. so i'm pretty new at the motorcycle thing and learning as i go along...about a week ago the rig started smoking like crazy from the exhaust, to the point that drivers behind me were changing lanes to avoid the smoke (lol)...then i get it back home and notice that it is bleeding oil all over itself...so my instinctive reaction was "better put more oil in!" and of course the leaking got worse after that.

last night i brought it over to a bike-savvy coworker of mine and he had us pull out the airbox...and we found it full of oil! his theory was that i overfilled it so much that it was climbing up the breather pipe from the oil res up into the airbox.

we ended up siphoning about 2/3gal of extra oil out to get to the right level! the leaking seems to have stopped but i've only put on about 10mi since then. not only that, but the oil smells of gas pretty bad...is that a carb float problem? i was advised to change the oil immediately and close the fuel valves whenever its not running...which i did. what kind of problems could cause gas to get into the oil?

just looking for some thoughts from you guys.
    Last edited by silver_ride; 04-04-2012, 05:58 PM.
    80 XS1100G

Carb float valves aren't closing properly.... time to rebuild the carbs....
    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick any two

'78E original owner - resto project
    '78E ???? owner - Modder project FJ forks, 4-piston calipers F/R, 160/80-16 rear tire
    '82 XJ rebuild project
    '80SG restified, red SOLD
    '79F parts...
    '81H more parts...

Other current bikes:
    '93 XL1200 Anniversary Sportster 85RWHP
    '86 XL883/1200 Chopper
    '82 XL1000 w/1450cc Buell, Baker 6-speed, in-progress project
    Cage: '13 Mustang GT/CS with a few 'custom' touches
    Yep, can't leave nuthin' alone...

Comment