Oil Change Disaster

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil Change Disaster

I have been tinkering with my carbs off and on for a few months and have decided that I have float issues on 1 and 2 because they don't seem to shut-off the fuel flow.

Today I decided to change the oil because it looked a little high and smelled like it might be contaminated with gas. Something must have gone wrong, with the intallation of the filter housing, because when I started the bike the oil blew out around the seals is less time than it took to write this sentence. I shut the bike down immediately, before I heard any rattling or grinding noises. Upon careful inspection I noticed that the oil pan (strainer cover) had a number of hairline cracks. I am not completely sure what happened, but it appears that the crankcase became pressurized, thereby forcing the oil out and cracking the pan.

Does anybody out there have a parts bike, with an oil pan, that they would be willing to part with? It is Yamaha part No. 2H7-13417-00-00. My bike is a 1979F Standard.

Thanks!
    1979 F
    Mac 4-2 Exhaust
    T-Kat Fork Brace
    Spade Fuse Box Mod
    Stainless Steel Braided Brake Lines
    140.0 Main Jets
    45.0 Pilot Jets
    266 X-2 Needle Jets

Thats a new one for me But I am new at this myself. Hopefully thats all that is wrong and good luck!
    Nathan
    KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
    K&N Filter
    #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
    OEM Exhaust
    ATK Fork Brace
    LED Dash lights
    Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
    SS Brake Lines
    Vision 550 Auto Tensioner

In any moment of decision the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing.

Theodore Roosevelt

Comment

PM Sent to you.
      Life is what happens while your planning everything else!

When your work speaks for itself, don't interrupt.

81 XS1100 Special - Humpty Dumpty