im new...now popping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• im new...now popping

hey im really new to the old school bikes but this is one i couldnt pass up.... i bought a 1979 yamaha sx11o0 specail ( black and red flake)... guy said it had a rod bearing out so i got it for 150 bux!!!!!! compleatly flawless came with all the hard bags (getting rid of) ended up being the cam chain need to be adjust too 5 min and no more chain slap but this a tick but goes away after 2500 rpm so probibly a bad lifter.. but my question is when i open her up she bogs down. it take forever to get up to speed..... i know it probibly the carbs but the man who sold it to me said he cleaned them.... i have been ridint for a couple years and this is my first cruiser..... had a 1992 gs500 for my first bike and decided to get a 95 cbr 900rr and then i had a kid so i sold it and go this gem...please give me some input and knowlege
    _____________________________________________ 1979 XS 1100 Special "The judge" mods- K&N air pods, 4-1 mac, 147.5 pilots, 57.5 mains, LED turn signal, cafe bars, HEL translucent yellow stainless steel brake line, dyna coil (dc2-1), raptor 660 mc, r6 controls..(sold)

1982 gs1100e "all business" cafe project
    1980 gs1000g "stock"
    1982 honda express "stretched 10 inch(my daughters scooter)
    2008 jmstar 150cc Chinese scooter ( wife's bike)

Welcome to the world of XS11.com, more knowledge than in an entire set of encyclopedias here. This is a really awesome bike and when running correctly, a very powerful beast! Many REALLY smart folks, not me though. I know enough to give some ideas and sometimes be dangerous, so here is my thoughts on your issues.

Originally posted by lee_dutcher View Post
    no more chain slap but this a tick but goes away after 2500 rpm so probibly a bad lifter..