Cranks but won't start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cranks but won't start

So I'm just downright irritated. I got back from Korea about a month and a half ago and have been dying to take out one (or both) of the XJs. Both my brother-in-law and mother's boyfriend think the brakes on the Dark Knight need looked at, so rather than try and fiddle with it, I settled on Outrider.

Now, she'd been sitting for about two months with no attention (probably a little longer), so she was good and dead. She had just had her carbs removed and cleaned before that, though. I charged her up good and tried to start her. Crank crank crank, but no start. Tried draining the fuel from the float bowls and then letting in fresh from the tank. Crank crank crank, but still no start!

I'm not a mechanical wizard, and I'm freaking tired of missing out on all this nice riding weather we've been having in my area! Suggestions? I'm about to buy a WestCo replacement battery and attempt to do the Honda VF1000 ignition coil upgrade, but I'd at least like to get her running before that. Help!

P.S. Dark Knight won't start either.
    "I said I never had much use for [a pistol], never said I didn't know how to use one."

'82 Maxim XJ1100J (Maroon) - "Organ Donor" - Parts bike

'82 Maxim XJ1100J (Black) - "Outrider" - Dynojet Stage 1 kit, Kerker 4-1 exhaust, AGM battery, Mikes XS coils, small inline fuel filters, Dunlopp Elite-3 tires

'06 Star Warrior (Custom Gadsden Flag Theme) - "ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ" - Sissy bar w/ luggage rack, 4" risers, braided stainless steel cables and brake line; Mods on deck: new exhaust, new seat

Originally posted by FSCGunslinger View Post
    I'm about to buy a WestCo replacement battery...
    SVR 18 is what's coming up on their site currently. This is maintenance free, right? I'm so clueless!

Originally posted by FSCGunslinger View Post
    and attempt to do the Honda VF1000 ignition coil upgrade...