Fork oil weight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fork oil weight

I ordered some parts to rebuild my forks.
    New progressive springs, piston ring, oil seal and air gasket.
    In the manual it says to use 10wt oil. What would happen if I used 15wt oil?
    I assume that the oil is there to slow the piston down while lubricating it so the 15wt would make it stiffer?

Thanks,
    1979 XS1100SF "Sakura Natsuhiboshi"

Yes.
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

I'm about to upgrade to progressive springs and change out the fork oil at the same time. I was thinking about trying out the 15w oil, but I just wanted to see if it's a bad idea. Has anyone else out there has tried the 15w oil instead of the 10w that is listed? What did you think of it?
      '81 XS11 SH (XSelsior)

Comment

i'm 135 lbs, i had 15wt with progressives, and the fill was as per progressive measuring from the top with a guage method not the, measuring cup method and it was too stiff,

without the progressive springs the 15 wt was good but not as good as the pro/ springs 10wt combo

mine is a hard bagger and loaded front fairing now and the suspension is very tunable as per the preloads up front, so no need for 15 wt....stay with the 10 wt
        good luck!
        "a good man knows his limitations" dirty harry
        History
        85 Yamaha FJ 1100
        79 yamaha xs1100f
        03 honda cbr 600 f4
        91 yamaha fzr 600
        84 yamaha fj 1100
        82 yamaha seca 750
        87 yamaha fazer
        86 yamaha maxim x
        82 yamaha vision
        78 yamaha rd 400

Comment

10 wt has worked well for me with the progressives.
          80 SG
          81 SH in parts
          99 ST1100
          91 ST1100

Comment

Thanks for the info guys, I'll stick with the 10w then.
            '81 XS11 SH (XSelsior)

Comment

and the fill was as per progressive measuring from the top with a guage method not the, measuring cup method