• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carb's

HELLO,
    THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TRYING THIS.
    A+ SITE I MIGHT AD!
    I BOUGHT A SEMI RESTORED 1100E 1978.
    I HAVE SEEN MANY OF YOU HAVE TAKEN THE STOCK AIR BOX OFF AND WENT TO INDIVIDUAL FILTERS.
    WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH THE LINE FROM THE CARB'S TO THE AIR BOX THAT IS NO LONGER THERE?
    THE OTHER PROBLEM IS WORN OUT TEES FOR THE FUEL LINES,THEY LEAK GAS ALL OVER.
    I GUESS NEW ONES ARE THE ONLY AWNSER?
    ACE:

The one (there's actually two right?) from the carbs to the air box is a float bowl vent, only on 78-79 models. I have seen people just run someplace safe or remove it and leave the t connector open...DO NOT BLOCK OF THE HOSE(S) OR YOUR BIKE WILL NO LONGER RUN.

Fuel Tee's...I never had to mess with this, Rob has made up new one's at www.motorcyclecarbs.com but they are brass and expensive at 29.99 each(I think), but cheaper than Yamaha would be if they still made them.

Good Luck
    Gary Granger
    Remember, we are the caretakers of mechanical art.
    2013 Suzuki DR650SE, 2009 Kawasaki Concours 1400, 2003 Aprilia RSV Mille Tuono

Comment

try an autoparts dealer for the t-pieces....or someone who deals in old british bikes for brass ones(cheap)
      mick
      xs1.1s(x2)
      gsxr1100(1127)
      gsx1100g(x2)
      trophy900
      bonneville750

http://www.tonyfoale.com/

Comment

I left these hoses open and cranked her up. oh boy!
        this was suppose to be cleaned and synced carbs.
        The exhaust about killed me, it ran like crap,i smelled alot of gas.
        i let it warm up for 5 minutes then shut it down hping it would run better.
        It sounded good when i gave it throttle.
        I let it cool down an saw the oil looked low now, but i was wrong when i drained it and got a gallon of it to drain out.
        The stuff smelled like gas and was thin.
        Ok the person that cleaned the carbs srewed up but any one have a reason what caused all this?