Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going Under the KNIFE!

Hey there folks,

Just a quick note, I've been battling a pinched nerve in my neck for going on 5 months now, have gone thru 3 weeks of prednisone, then 1 month of Prescription Nsaid, then 1 month of OTC Aleve, Chiropractic adjustments/ traction,rest, all to no avail. When I raise my head essentially up to straight ahead, or slightly upwards, my left arm starts going numb with pains radiating thru my neck/shoulder and down. Saw the Neurosurgeon yesterday, and the results of my MRI with my physical shows a definite herniation of my C6-C7 disk space impinging upon my left nerve root to my arm, have already lost my ulnar reflex, but no other motor function loss or weakness, thankfully.

Fortunately, it's lateral to the disc space, and so he can approach it from the back/left side avoiding all of that delicate tissue in the front: trachea-windpipe; voice box; esophagus, and all the nerves and vessels there abouts!!! This also means that I won't have to have a FUSION, no degenerative joint/bone disease present, and not fusing reduces further calcification and possible natural fusing of the joints above it that CAN occur with a surgical fusion! Don't have to wear a neck brace, can retain full range of motion, and will only have to be out of work for a little over a week! It's scheduled for this coming Thursday, Aug. 05.

I'll still be able to sit at the computer and type, so there won't be too many days of my absence, like you guys would miss me anyways!!

And I won't have to give up riding the XS, just take several weeks off to let my neck muscles heal!!!! The surgeon is a biker also....I knew I liked him for some reason!!
    Wow, did I say quick, sorry, my faux paux!!!!
    T.C.
    T. C. Gresham
    81SH "Godzilla" . . .1179cc super-rat.
    79SF "The Teacher" . . .basket case!
    History shows again and again,
    How nature points out the folly of men!

Best of luck and a quick recovery.