The new guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The new guy

Hey all, I've just joined this forum yesterday. I'm really excited about it. I'm about to begin tearing my motor apart on my 79SF that I just picked up cause it stopped running on me. I'm just going to rebuild the whole top end. I know a lot about Harley-Davidson's, as I work as a service writter and rentals manager at a dealer for the last couple years, but I don't know a whole lot about metrics. Any pointers? Cautions? Things to watch out for or avoid?

Thanks a lot! Happy motoring

Dev

welcome

Glad to see you join the madness...

There are permanent Tech Tips that may help in knowing both what to look for and history - go to Home page - Tech Tips...

We won't hold the Hardley stuff against you (much) but the main thing to know about these bikes is they don't make any bike like this anymore - pretty well designed and thought out to last...so if you are making changes consider how it may affect your longevity.

Other than that dive in. Search on what answers you need - this is an old forum so alot has been done different ways over the years..

And don't start any tire or oil threads!

John
    John is in an anonymous city with an Alamo (N29.519227,W-98.678980)

Go ahead, click on the bikes - you know you want to...the electrons are ready.
    '81 XS1100H - "Enterprise"
    Bob Jones Custom Navy bike: Tkat brace, EBC floating rotors & SS lines, ROX pivot risers, Geezer rectifier, new 3H3 engine

"Not all treasure is silver and gold"

Comment

Well, first thing is, these ain't Harleys...