xs11 versus kz1000...newbe questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• xs11 versus kz1000...newbe questions

Hey Fellas...first off, my questions are not to start a flame war or anything...I am a total newbe, never having owned a classic bike.

For about the last year or so, I have been toying with the idea of getting a classic mid-seventies super bike...somehow, I got turned on to the idea of a kz1000...I don't know anybody with one just stuff i read online.

The thing I keep coming back to, is that anyone who has one of these, wants a kings ransom for it...not only that, they have restored it or half-ass restored it which takes the enjoyment out of the project for me....I want to be the one restoring.

Anyway, last night I was looking online and at craigslist.com...saw somebody had a xs11 and I went googling

10-15 mins later, on ebay, I see that these bikes (xs11's) apear to cost a little less and might be more plentiful than the kz bikes???...I understand I may be completely wrong here..hence, my posting. Is my thinking correct in this regard?

I searched the forums here and see kz's are mentioned from time to time, so I know some of you are familiar with them.

Here's a couple questions I had:

1. How to kz's compare to xs and xj bikes?
    2. Are parts easier to find and aquire?
    3. Is performance roughly about the same for these tweo bikes?
    4. How about dependability? Roughly the same?
    5. If you knew what you do today, back when you did your first project bike, what advice would you give yourself...(me)?

Sorry for stupid questions, just not really sure where else to turn for advice.

Thanks for your patience and any guidance you can offer.

Mike
    Last edited by mismith356; 04-09-2006, 10:26 AM.

read the articles in this site and by default the xs1100 xsedes in performance in many fronts, and reigned supreme for the time it was available
    "a good man knows his limitations" dirty harry
    History
    85 Yamaha FJ 1100