XJ11 as a first bike?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XJ11 as a first bike?

I am a non-motorcylist looking for a 1st bike and have recently been offered a 1982 Maxim with 7,000 miles on it. From what I can tell via the photos it looks pretty darn good for an '82 and according to the seller it "runs strong". He's looking for $1200.

Here's what he says: "This a great bike with less than 7,000 miles. It has newer tires (less than 100 miles), new spark plugs, oil just changed, new fuel lines, brake system flushed and pads inspected, and carbs just cleaned. I do have the title for this bike. The price is $1200 but is negotiable. "

What I am nervous about is the 1100cc's for a new rider. Will this bike be unwieldy for a complete newbie to ride?

Here's a photo for reference
    Last edited by locdogg; 04-04-2006, 06:11 PM.

I don't think so, The 1100's are pretty docile machines till you turn the wick up. The only thing I could see as a problem is. These bikes are heavy like 500 plus pounds. And they tend to show their weight at slow speeds. And could give you problems if you plan to take the road test at your local DMV. But if you take a Motorcycle saftey course (which I highly recommend) you can by pass the road test portion of getting your license.

Another positive note is you won't have to upgrade from some pewny little starter bike later.
    1980 XS850G
    1978 XS750SE>>>>>Sold
    1982 XJ1100 Maxim

Comment

Welcome!..........and no, you won't have any problems, as these bikes 'lug' around real well so you won't have any surprises........also, that's a steal for that XJ as good as it looks, and hardly broke in to boot!
      81H Venturer1100 "The Bentley" (on steroids) 97 Yamaha YZ250(age reducer) 92 Honda ST1100 "Twisty"(touring rocket) Age is relative to the number of seconds counted 'airing' out an 85ft. table-top.

Comment