It ain't the bulb........

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It ain't the bulb........

so where should I begin to look for the reason my neutral light quit working? It was intermittant for awhile and then just quit altogether. If this has been covered before I apologize for asking and if you tell me it's in the neutral switch, well, I can't find that either. All I know is this.........it ain't the bulb.

Thanks y'all,
    Jake Haynie

81 xs1100lh

"I'd rather fight, than switch."

Neuter switch should be up under the frame, sort of, left side o' engine, down by the kickstand area. Has one wire coming out o' it. (mine leaks... that's how I know where it is!)
    Check that the wire is tight... and check all harness connections that it travels in.
    Hhmmm.. of course, you could disconnect the wire, ground it, and see if the light comes on then. Then you've got a loopy switch.
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Ding dong, the switch is dead?

Jake,

A little better location description, the switch is in the shifter cover, bottom forward end of it, follow the wires and you'll find it! Like Prom said, it just completes the circuit to ground, so pull the wire off and ground it to the frame with the key on, and the bulb should light! If not, then you've got some more research to do, like ensuring that you're getting 12 volts TO the bulb, check the continuity of the wire from the bulb to the switch!
      T.C.
      T. C. Gresham
      81SH "Godzilla" . . .1179cc super-rat.
      79SF "The Teacher" . . .basket case!
      History shows again and again,
      How nature points out the folly of men!

Comment

Thanks fella's, but are you saying I have to take the shifter cover off to access the switch?
        Jake Haynie

81 xs1100lh

Comment

no, it's outside the cover, below the shifter and cover, on the case
          Pat Kelly
          <p-lkelly@sbcglobal.net>

1978 XS1100E (The Force)