Oil cooler question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil cooler question

I'm a newbie here so forgive me if i've posted in the wrong forum.I currentely own a 1979 xs 1100 s I love the bike to death.My one problem is the oil cooler the lines were seaping so i have removed the whole unit....What i need to know is can i take the fitting out of the bottom end and thread in bolts to stop the flow of the oil.I live in a climate where i can't see any real need for a cooler and perfer the look of it without it...Will this affect performance of the bike.....Any info would be greatly appreciated....

Hi Scott, and welcome.

Your bike should do fine without the oil cooler. Not sure where your fitting is, but you could match the thread and depth with a bolt to cap it off.

I bet someone from a hotter climate will be interested in your 'leftovers'
    Mike * Seattle * 82 F'n'XJ1100 *

Comment

So just to reiterate there will be no damage done to the motor if i proceed with this avenue??? Thanx alot Mike for the quick responce!!! As well have you heard of anyone else doing this???

Comment

No damage due to removing oil cooler, that's right. Some time back, Gary LaPook I think it was, installed a cylinder head temp gauge (aviation) on his xs to measure head temp, and found it to be well within limits. An overwhelming majority of xs's have no oil cooler.

You could damage threads or such if you use the wrong bolt to plug off the places where the cooler picked up its oil flow

A friend of mine removed the oil cooler from his SF, he kept having to cover it with tin foil during cool months because his motor was staying too cool. He sold the bike, sorry I can't go look at it for you.

Maybe someone else with hands-on knowledge of the fittings/bolts will chime in here...

Comment