Potential project 79 XS 11 Special

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potential project 79 XS 11 Special

Hey all! I'm new to the vintage bike world and wanted some input before pulling the trigger to buy this 1979 XS 11 Special. Seller states it's been sitting for years and doesn't have a battery, but has the title and keys.

I added all the pics from the listing plus what I had the seller send me, and would appreciate feedback from the folks in this group who I'm sure know miles more than me about this bike.

Is this worth the $500 asking price? Is it missing anything glaring? Anything I should know/ask/look out for when I go to look at the bike?
    Last edited by MGargano; 04-12-2024, 01:37 PM.

Some more pics

Comment

Last few pics

Comment

Howdy MGargano,,,,bike looks pretty stock, missing tank decals, only 13k is pretty low milage,,,a good thing. Before buying
        1. check to see if owner put filters in the gas line from the petcocks, if not do not try to start as it could suck in crud into the carbs,,,,,if filters are in both gas lines check tank for gas,,,if any in it its probably no good from sitting, if empty and clean inside put a half gallon in, spray some instant start into the air filter inlet, hook up to a battery or jump from a car and see if it will fire a bit.
        2. if there is spark,,,,very good,
        3. if tires are old, that is a bargaining point as they are a couple hundred to make it safe
        4. lift up seat and check to see if wires look stock, and check fuse box on right side under the cover for rust, crappy wires,,,,etc
        5. check registration,,,,I dont know Jersey laws but you do not want to pay past registration fees if its been sitting awhile and due, maybe call dmv and check, also check owners last time it was registered.
        6. Geico has super cheap bike insurance