Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear wheel & carb question

Hello everyone,

I just got an XS1100 1981 so I'm brand new to the bike. So I have a few questions.

The bike is basically unmovable while sitting on it, it takes 2 to move because the rear wheel is very hard to turn. It gets slightly easier if I remove the caliper but should still turn easier. I assume this is either the drive shaft or the bearings. The rear bearings seem to be unsourcable so I'd like to know where I can get some/what my options are.

Second problem is carbs seem to be spitting fuel back out the airbox because I have fuel leaking out of there. I took it around the block plenty of times and then one time I started the bike is just started leaking.

Thanks!

howdy,,,,check the tightness of the rear axle bolt,,,maybe its way too tight, so try loosening it and see if that helps, also check it in nuetral, and also check front wheel for easy spinning. As far as carbs, pop them off and do a thorough cleaning and check the floats for even height from the carb body., these old xs1100s all leak gas until the cleaning and or rebuild is done. YOu could get lucky and try banging on both sides of the carbs with a soft hammer to free the float. Also make sure there are inline gas filters on each line coming from the gas tank as any crud will cause carb leaking without them.......muy importante......good luck, keep us informed,,,Mike in S.Diego and Pa.

Comment

Are you moving the bike neutral, or is in gear with the clutch lever pulled? I'm asking to see if the clutch is the issue.

Your gas leak might be caused by dirt on the float needle valve, or a stuck float. If it doesn't clear by rapping a screw driver handle on the float bowls, then the carbs will probably have to come apart to clean the float needle valve.

In the meantime, I have flushed debris from the float needle valves by:
      (1) Turn off the fuel petcocks
      (2) Put a bowl or pan under one of the carbs