Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Screeching noise when cold starting

Hello everyone!
    Want to give a belated thank you to all who replied to my 'dirty oil sight glass' issue. I just added some fresh oil and it got clear again...

Anyways, I'm experiencing a momentary screeching noise that comes from the lower left side of the engine when I go to 'cold' start it. It still fires right up and doesn't make the noise when the engine is restarted after warming up.
    Any ideas?

As usual, all advice is totally appreciated!

Thx,

SJ

Starter issues?
    "Damn it Jim, I'm a doctor, not a mechanic!' ('Bones' McCoy)

Comment

Re: Screeching noise when cold starting

There are two kinds of noises that I have heard when starting colld. One is a whirl-clackity-clack. And one is a partial crank followed by a honking-like a goose noise. Most of those starting problems occurred in all 3 of my bike when I either used too heavy of a multigrade oil, or when using pure synthetic. The noises will eventually go away when your oil thins with wear, or when summer returns (if your bike is like mine). =:-) Then again, those were not "screetching noises."

Originally posted by seriousjimmy
      Hello everyone!
      Want to give a belated thank you to all who replied to my 'dirty oil sight glass' issue. I just added some fresh oil and it got clear again...

Anyways, I'm experiencing a momentary screeching noise that comes from the lower left side of the engine when I go to 'cold' start it. It still fires right up and doesn't make the noise when the engine is restarted after warming up.
      Any ideas?

As usual, all advice is totally appreciated!

Thx,

SJ
      Skids (Sid Hansen)

Down to one 1978 E. Stock air box with K&N filter, 81H pipes and carbs, 8500 feet elevation.

Comment

What type and weight of oil did you put in the bike? Are you starting it on the sidestand, or centerstand? Th last question, how long does it make the noise, one second, or 30 seconds?