Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• scooter broke!

Help!
    My bike has been running like a top: no sign of trouble. I shut it off and when I went to start it back up, the starter went "click," but it wouldn't start. More specifically it won't turn over... won't rotate. It acts like something came loose inside the engine. I'm hoping it is something easy to get to, like maybe the starter. Any ideas anyone?
    This is Thursday night, before my favorite weekend of the year and my scooter is broke!
    Hope to get some feedback!
    E.Liberty
    Old bikers never die, they're just out of sight!

My recently re-built, hopped up '79 Special caught fire and burned everything from the top of the engine up: gas tank, wiring, seat, & melted my windshield all over the front of the bike. Just bought a 1980 Special that has been non oped for 9 years. My Skoot will rise from the ashes and be re named "The Phoenix!"
    I've been riding since 1959.

Dead battery?

Have you tried kick-starting her?

Comment

Starter

Just a click and nothing sounds like a dead battery.

Try hooking up to a car battery (without the engine running works if the battery on that is OK). Press the starter again and hopefully it'll turn over.

If nothing still try taking off the left hand crack cover (the vacuum advance cover and turn her over by hand. Don't forget XS11 engins run backwards to most other bikes - so note the arrows on the advance plate for direction of rotation.

That should show you that the engine turns over. If it's really stiff take out a plug or two and try with less compression.

Now:

a) Engine turns over freely and you just need to sort out a starter problem (battery / starter solenoid / starter brushes etc etc)

Or

b) you can't get the darn thing to turn over at all by hand - in which case uyou may well have something SERIOUS to look for.

Don't despair - it's probably the battery or starter solenoid.