Standard forks on a Special?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Standard forks on a Special?

I am preparing to restore/customize a 79 XS 1100 SF. My fork tubes are really rusty and need to be replaced. What I am wondering is can I replace the forks entirely with those off a standard? I believe it would change the angle of rack a bit. So would this be a bad thing? I would think that steering would be improved at slow speeds, but I may be wrong and just asking for problems. Any suggestions? Oh the reason I want to use the standard forks is I have a standard for parts.
    Tim

79 XS1100SF
    74 Suzuki T500
    74 Suzuki GT750 LeMans
    81 Kawasaki KZ 440 LTD

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
    - Benjamin Franklin

My guess, is it would be a good swap.
    I've been riding my Special fairly regular for several years; I have
    had, during this time, a Standard that's in pretty good shape, not
    running. I have often thot about swapping the front ends, like what your suggesting; to draw up "that rake", on my Special. (On a car, I think it's called caster.)
    I'm thinking , the fork necks are the same >> bearings, etc.
    But, from there, forward, its all NOT the same.
    I think, the last time, I stared, back and forth, real hard, when I had both machines parked close, the triple-trees are different.
    Triple tree, sticking out further on the Special, with that offset axle going forward >> perfect rake for a hunerd miles an hour.
    But, under 2-3 miles per hour, I've always known "the Special's rake" was causing me extra work.
    The Standard I have, I've never ridden it . Oftentimes, have
    thought about doing "that" steering geometry change.

I bet you'll get some suggestions, ideas/posts on this.
    JCarltonRiggs

81XS1100SH; WorkingMotorcycle,Not For Show,DeletedFairing,SportsterHL,
    7½ gal. Kaw Concours gastank,1972 Wixom Bros. bags