It WORKS!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It WORKS!!

Many many thanks to TC and John for their help in my winter project. Bought an xsw1100 midnight last summer and discovered first gear jumped when I tried to jump on it. Then I discovered this list. What a blessing. TC posted the entire fix with color pictures which I copied and then got to work (and I'm no mechanic, just an oil-changer).

I finished up today and EVERYTHING works! Huzzah! I did the dremel fix for a bad skip in first gear. While in there I did second too, even though I've not had problems with it. TC's instructions were perfect and everything went just as he said it would. Though it is still winter here, when I got done, I took my '81 Midnight out into the balmy 32 degree weather and warmed her up for about ten miles, and then I laid that throttle open. No skip. No difficulty shifting all the way through the gears, just screaming fun, with snow flurries flying all around and people gawking at me like I'd lost my mind (the road was dry). Whew that bike can get up and run now. Wonder what it'll be like when it's warm?