Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi, new member here with a few questions!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi, new member here with a few questions!

Hi guys, newbie here with a few questions. I just bought a 1977 XS400, I know it’s not an 11 but I couldn’t find any info on the web that may be able to help me out and your group looked good! I bought the bike as another project, it was last tagged in 1991, and it’s a 1 owner bike with 8,000 miles. The bikes owner passed away back in 92, the bike was taken to a stealership to have the carbs cleaned and some other work done to it and when the relative of the owner got a bill he told them NO WAY, so they gave the bike back less the carbs that they had just rebuilt, nice guys huh. Anyway it sat in this guy’s garage since. I just found a set of carbs for it, but I do not have a key! Does any one know what steps I should take to get one cut? I don’t have the key # but do have the VIN and the lock #, I’ve never had to get keys made like this! I was told the Yamaha dealer can make them if you have the actual key#, would that be the same as the ignition #? Does any one have any information on the XS400 or know where I might be able to find any? Its the rare one with the 7 spoke wheels, integrated seat and the squared off tank, it looks like an RD400, kind of. It has front and rear disks and the flat seat, the late 78 up models went to the stepped seat, spoke wheels and a drum rear brake, why I don't know! Thanks again for any and all help you all may be able to offer me! My last project was a 1984 Yamaha FJ600 that turned out better than I ever imagined, I was able to track down a NOS SpecII lower body and a full Yoshimura 4to1 exhaust! Anyway thanks again, Matt

Re: Hi, new member here with a few questions!

Originally posted by ilovemountains
    Hi guys, newbie here with a few questions. I just bought a 1977 XS400, I know it’s not an 11
    Everybody's welcome, doesn't matter what you ride.