Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running on FUll choke... but that's about it

Hey guys,

I bought my 79 xs11 sf about a week ago and it didn't run at the time.

So spent all yesterday cleaning the carbs out. I think I got every nook and cranny possible. Put it back into my bike with the pod filters and pulled the choke out all the way.

The bike idles, but stumbles on occassion. If I attempt to give it ANY gas, it dies. If I try to put in the choke, it dies. I also felt the engine and cyl 3&4 do not seem to be getting very hot.

THe exhaust comes out white with a smell of sulpher almost. It doesn't smell like normal good ol exhaust fumes.

Since I'm a newb, I don't really know what to look for or where the problems arise. ANy ideas?

Jon

Re: Running on FUll choke... but that's about it

I don't know if you used the carb dunk tank method, but if you did, it is highly adviisable that you finish the job by shooting carb spray through all of the passages, followed by forcing air through the passages to dry them out. Of course, carb synching would also be important, but this could be tough considering it isn't running well, so getting them (throttle plates) close with a wire as a feeler gage might come in handy.

I have had a little luck starting the engine cold, with a particular set of carbs, by allowing warm-up time, rolling the idle up very slowly, followed by lightly "goosing" it to free-up the slides (I guess that is the mechanism).

Originally posted by dabien310
    Hey guys,

I bought my 79 xs11 sf about a week ago and it didn't run at the time.

So spent all yesterday cleaning the carbs out. I think I got every nook and cranny possible. Put it back into my bike with the pod filters and pulled the choke out all the way.

The bike idles, but stumbles on occassion. If I attempt to give it ANY gas, it dies. If I try to put in the choke, it dies. I also felt the engine and cyl 3&4 do not seem to be getting very hot.