Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I finally found something wrong with the XS11 !

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I finally found something wrong with the XS11 !

...I *LOVE* my 1980 XS11SG, and am amazed daily with it's power-range, handling, response, it's sound, it's looks, and haven't found ONE single thing I didn't like about this bike...
    ...this morning it's ONE and only flaw was shown to me - the thermometer finally went near freezing in my area, and THIS bike is *VERY* "cold-blooded" and was hard to start (or I shall say 'warm up').
    Once on the freeway *IT* did better than I did - ran FAST, smooth, etc.

While at the shop it's brought in and kept by the other machinery, and out of the weather. At home it took the place of our '57 F100, and a small heater, or at least a 100W light bulb is going to keep my 'baby' warm at night. I've had about a dozen bikes since I started riding back in the late '60s, but this is the 1st bike I've ever been 'attached to'...

1980 XS1100SG

I have one that was cold blooded like that. I had to pull the "choke" lever all the way out and use no throttle to get it to fire. If you twist the throttle, the choke vacuum is disabled while you do. Once she wakes from sleep, I can blip the throttle and then ease the choke to the middle position, and so on...
    Skids (Sid Hansen)

Down to one 1978 E. Stock air box with K&N filter, 81H pipes and carbs, 8500 feet elevation.

Comment

"this morning it's ONE and only flaw was shown to me - the thermometer finally went near freezing in my area, and THIS bike is *VERY* "cold-blooded" and was hard to start (or I shall say 'warm up').
      Once on the freeway *IT* did better than I did - ran FAST, smooth, etc."

Ah come on now Uncle, it never gets cold in California??

Just like it never rains there ether...