Slow to start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slow to start

Took my 80g out for a short ride today (about 20 minutes). I turned the bike off for about 10 minutes and then it was cranking real slow. Cranking slow I thought wa because the battery was low. I had a couple of people try to help me push start it. I have never tried it before on my xs11 so I don't know if this is the best way.

Anyway, I could not get it running. Until I tried opening the throttle all the way, and then two turns of the engine and it fired right up. I am thinking that the hot engine had too much friction to be able to turn to quickly. But only opening the throttle full like I would start a flooded engine got it running. Not sure what made me thought of opening up the throttle to full. Maybe my girl was talking to me.

I then rode for another short ride (about 10 minutes) and turned off the bike for a couple of hours. Came back to it and it fire right up as normal.

Then I took her for about an hour ride because I was enjoying the Florida sun and waving at all ot the other people on bikes. I have not ridden much in Florida but it seems that everyone waves down by me if they are on a Harley or a Honda.

Any thoughts, other than the Florida sun?
    Owned by a pair of XS11's. An 80 Standard and a 79 Special.

thumperjsa

Did you turn off the gas when you shut it off? My guess is that it flooded and some raw gas got into the cylinders washing the oil off the walls. This makes the engine harder to turn over. The way to start a flooded engine is to crank the engine over with the throttle wide open, which you did. Had that happen to me once when I forgot to shut off the gas and I don't have the octopus.

Bob
    #1 ’79 XS11 Special
    #2 ’79 XS11 Special
    '97 V-Max
    '01 Dyna T-Sport

Comment

Hey Thumper,