Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bringing her back to life!

Hello everyone! NFG here,

I have been using xs11.com for about 6 weeks. The first 2 weeks were combing through what it would be like to work on a 70's Yamaha. Now I have a 79 XS1100 (Special I think). The reason I say "I think" is that it is hacked up! I will post pictures over the weekend to explain what I mean. For now words will suffice.
    Frame is cut, wiring harness is hacked, I bought it not running (it will turn over!), front brakes had nothing to them, carb holders cracked, cylinder 3 carb bowl leaking, light rust in the tank (no fuel filters), pod air filters (I did get the stock air box though), etc.

I am committed to bringing her to a classy look. She won't be stock by any means but she won't be a hack job bobber like some bikes I have seen out there. So far I have a new front brake master cylinder and brake lever, new clutch perch and clutch lever, caliper rebuild kit, carb holders and a manual on the way.

After that I will need top end gaskets, valve guide seals, cam tensioner gasket, ( I hope not a shim kit because they are expensive and I don't know anyone with one!) , possibly a full carb rebuild kit, some fabricating to clean up the hacked off rear end, and a lot of love!

In the exhaust ports I have a lot of carbon build up and it has a glossy (wet) look which is why I am thinking of the valve guide seals. I will check the guides and valve stems once the top end is off, but I am hoping that they are fine. Can I re use the seals from the headers? Or is that a one and done part?

Am I missing anything commonly done on a resto? All fluids are a given.

Thanks gents!
    Tarzan
    79 SF
    79 GL1000

Welcome! Sounds like a good start. I would suggest getting it started and running before tearing open the engine. No sense doing a bunch of things that might not be necessary if you don't have to.