Stellite welding 2nd gear fix

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stellite welding 2nd gear fix

Anyone on here have any experience doing this?
    Since i am a proficient licensed welder and i happen to have some stellite lying around and an xs1100 with a 2nd gear that slips under full throttle(which would mean its only slightly worn) and clunky shifting (bent selector fork)
    I am thinking it would work to dress up the cogs with a thin 1/10 mm bead of stellite at the end of the cog, so backcutting would remove nothing of the base material. Of course welded as cold as possible to not remove any hardening, stellite is sufficiently hard w/o temper.
    Also do the shift forks from xs750s fit since i have a bunch extra from my xs900 build?
    Now i think i will not try backcutting myself, there are guys doing that in town i think, a simple welder cant get the cogs to match perfectly i think..
    79 2H9 in Sweden; 2 XS750's

Hey there,

Don't know about anybody having tried using Stellite?, we have a few certified welders on our site so they would be more capable of chiming in with their opinions or experience.

However, once the dogs get rounded off they have already gotten worn into or past the hardening layer, so not sure if you're really preserving anything. And as you said, trying to use the lowest temp for performing the welding, but you're still talking about several thousands of degrees to attain a proper weld and not just a glue/tack, so the temper might still be affected anyways.