Oil drain plug

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil drain plug

Question for all the experts out there which I am not. Just got bike this year, only 430 miles since i am new to riding and my first bike which i picked up for $400 thanks to my lovely wife who saw on Facebook garage sale. I see where the oil filter case is up front of bike but how about drain plug. Do i need to take case of to see it and drain it? Any pics possibly to show me? Thanks.

79 xs1100 special
    79 XS11SF

Right behind the

oil filter housing is a ribbed pan. At the back of the pan is a 19 mm hex head bolt. That is the drain plug for the motor.
    The middle drive also has a drain plug. It is located at back of the motor, in the center practically in line with the rear motor mount/forward foot peg bolts.
    The last drain plug is located under the final drive. Also a 19mm hex head bolt.
    mack
    79 XS 1100 SF Special
    HERMES
    original owner
    http://i946.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps6932d5df.jpg

81 XS 1100 LH MNS
    SPICA
    http://i946.photobucket.com/albums/ad305/mack-055/2.jpg

78 XS 11E
    IOTA
    https://youtu.be/wB5Jfbp6SUc
    https://youtu.be/RaI3WYHSuWA

Have recovery trailer and shop if you breakdown in my area.
    Frankford, Ont, Canada
    613-398-6186

Comment

To drain the oil you need to remove the bowl that holds the oil filter and also remove the drain plug that is to the right of the filter bowl when looking back at the engine from the front side of the bike. The drain plug faces forward and you gotta get pretty low to the ground to be able to see it.
      Nathan
      KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
      K&N Filter
      #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
      OEM Exhaust
      ATK Fork Brace
      LED Dash lights
      Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
      SS Brake Lines
      Vision 550 Auto Tensioner