Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• xs1100 question - std or special

Hello,
    I am a new 1980 XS11 standard owner. In fact I am new to motorcycling and have just now recieved my motorcycle license. I recently purchased the above referenced bike. I like the bike except that it is extremely tall. I researching parts, I ran accross references to the "special" bike. This bike is suppose to be lower built I think. Now for the questions, is this 'special' bike lower built? Can parts from a "special" be interchanged with a std. Are the frames the same? Are the wheels the same? Thanks in advance for the help

Lower Bike

Welcome alaskan_man8 Am not sure about 80 xs but my 80 Special parts bike has a 130-90-16 rear wheel. Somewhere on the site has info. on what you are trying to do. Putting a 16 in. wheel on in place of a 17 in. seems to be standard practice to lower the rear. Try modification .?? My bike is an XJ so i don't have a problem, low seat. bkr

Comment

std or special