What am I missing??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What am I missing??

Its been 4 years since I last posted about this problem. Life happens and things get put on the back burner I guess. I have been working on an 81 special on and off for the past 4 years. The problem I'm having is.... I cant get it to rev AT ALL, AFTER it warms up just a couple of minutes. Cold, it runs and revs great!! I've been through the carbs a dozen times I have went from 125 mains down to 110s across the board. I know it shouldn't have adjustable needles but it does ( PO put them in) The factory needles are NO longer available. Tried them in every slot possible. I have fixed a broken pick-up wire (the white one). Changed coils with another set of used ones. Cleaned all the electrical connections from the battery TO the headlight bucket (haven't opened it YET). This bike is STILL fouling the plugs black. Mixture screws are only turned out 1.5 turns. The battery is brand new this year. It has a full charge. After the bike stalls from trying to rev. It starts up after a few seconds of cranking and idles perfect. What am I missing. My original thread is posted if anyone wants to read it.

http://www.xs11.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28248

Thanks
    Rob
    82 XJ1100
    Stock..With a few cosmetic changes.
    Current Project..Dad's 81 1100 Special

http://s727.photobucket.com/albums/ww272/RiderXJ/

Missing?

Black (rich) plugs means one of two things - too much fuel or not enough air.