Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha Eleven Special Issues

Hi,

I am a newbie. I have required recently a 81 model Yamaha Eleven Special. It have the following problems that baffles me.

Problems :

Can't set idling lower than 1800 rpms otherwise bike dies.
    When you ride her under 3000 rpms no power and than when you go over 3000 rpms sudden surch of power.
    There is a constant blow back of air through airbox.
    At times she gives blow back down so heavy that it blows out the little plastic seal on top of the timing tensioner.

What I have done so far :

Cleaned and set carb according to workshop manual.
    Replace both fuel hoses and vacuum hoses.
    Replace sparkplugs.

Please help!
    Yamaha Eleven Special - 81 Model
    Suzuki GS550E - 81 Model

you moght try the pick up coil fix ,,look it up on the forum it,s common and an easy fix ride safe and welcome ,,,slow mo!
    The Belfast Express {1980 xs11oo special/TC fuse box/mikes xs pods/bad boy horn!/mikes green coils/mac 4 into 2 exhaust/ standard bars/vetter fairing c/w ipod CD iphone am/fm radio/tkat fork brace ,,,tuned by tinman
    moemcnally@hotmail.com
    i AM THE KING OF NOTHING

the people here are great , doesn't matter about the bike really/hamjam ////

Comment

Check your valves and make sure they are in spec and you absolutly must vacuum sync the carbs.
      Nathan
      KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
      K&N Filter
      #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
      OEM Exhaust
      ATK Fork Brace
      LED Dash lights
      Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
      SS Brake Lines
      Vision 550 Auto Tensioner

In any moment of decision the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing.

Theodore Roosevelt

Comment

Originally posted by Bike Extreme View Post
        There is a constant blow back of air through airbox.