Can this carb be salvaged??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can this carb be salvaged??

So I'm a noob, awaiting my (carb-less) '81 XS1100 Special to be delivered, got all the accompanying parts and started looking through it all to see what I've got. One of the corners where the diaphragm covers (what is the technical name for this?) mount was cracked and upon taking the cover off, I discovered that it was completely broken off. Am I better off just buying a new bank of carbs? A single carb (don't know how easily these can be found or what tuning issues could crop up as a result later on...) or can I find a NOS part to replace just this part of the carb body? I'll post a picture of what I'm talking about ASAP.
    Replace entire bank
    37.50%
    Replace entire single carb
    50.00%
    Replace just this broken part
    12.50%

The poll is expired.

81 XS11

Without seeing how/where it's broken, hard to say. As to what would be the easiest path to a fully functional carb bank, that's again hard to say. To replace either the one part (sounds like a broken body) or carb, you'll have to get a match. There's four distinct carb set types; '78-79, early 80', late '80-81, and '82 (XJ). You can't mix the types as a general rule, and within each type the carbs are machined for 'place' (1, 2, 3, or 4). So if you're unable to find the 'correct' carb, a full set of another type could be used instead (except for the XJ carbs).

To identify what you have now, look here: http://www.xs11.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35964
    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick any two

'78E original owner - resto project
    '78E ???? owner - Modder project FJ forks, 4-piston calipers F/R, 160/80-16 rear tire
    '82 XJ rebuild project
    '80SG restified, red SOLD
    '79F parts...
    '81H more parts...

Other current bikes:
    '93 XL1200 Anniversary Sportster 85RWHP
    '86 XL883/1200 Chopper
    '82 XL1000 w/1450cc Buell, Baker 6-speed, in-progress project