Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! I'm in l.a. And my xs is giving me trouble!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! I'm in l.a. And my xs is giving me trouble!

So I've been traveling by motorcycle for about 8 months (about 16,000 mi) now, only this last month on my 79 xs1100, which I bought in AZ. Now I'm in LA and it is really giving me some trouble. It dies mysteriously, on the road or at stoplights from idle. When it dies the starter switch does nothing (no click). If I connect the two sides of the starter relay I can usually get it running again. This problem is very intermittent, it sometimes wont happen for days, then it will happen 2 or 3 times in an hour. I figure it must be some loose electrical connection. When it is running it runs beautifully.

I do not particularly want to put much more money into this bike, and would be as happy to sell it as have it fixed.

I am very far from home (MD) and am quite desperate. If you live in LA and would be so kind as to give me a hand with it, a recommendation of a good mechanic to diagnose it or want to make me an offer please respond.

thanks,

Joe
    79 XS11

My first thought is a loose connection in the fuse panel. Time to break out the DMM and do some probing. If you can, carry along a pocket DMM while riding. Since these bikes requires juice to the TCI to run, I'd say you are having some type of disconnect from the battery to the fuse panel. Bad ground? Loose negative cable? I could go on forever . . .
    1979 XS1100F
    2H9 Mod, Truck-Lite LED Headlight, TECHNA-FIT S/S Brake Lines, Rear Air Shocks, TKAT Fork Brace, Dyna DC-I Coils, TC Fuse Block, Barnett HD Clutch Springs, Superbike Handlebars, V-Star 650 ACCT, NGK Irridium Plugs, OEM Exhaust. CNC-Cut 2nd Gear Dogs; Ported/Milled Head; Modded Airbox: 8x8 Wix Panel Filter; #137.5 Main Jet, Viper Yellow Paint, Michelin Pilot Activ F/R, Interstate AGM Battery, 14MM MC, Maier Fairing, Cree LED Fog Lights.

Comment