Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tranny Problem

Hi All,

40 miles into my weekend road trip with another friend, I exit the interstate and soon learn that I can't shift out of 3rd into 4th. The shifter doesn't feel right either, so I pulled into a parking lot to investigate. I decide to limp along to my fiends place and try to shift again and this time it shifts into 4th and then into 5th. More testing revels that can downshift into 4th and back up to 5th, but that's all she'll do. The shifter now seems to have no spring centering action.

I've read-up on all the tech tips here on the XS website and am hoping that I have just a broken shifter spring. Can anyone tell me what they think has happened and how extensive this problem is. I've never worked on a transmission before and am a little bit intimidated to take that on. If it's a broken shifter spring, I would like to know the following:

1) Do I need to drain the crankcase oil out to take off the shifter cover plate?

2) It appears all models of the XS1100 share the same shifter spring part no. Are they all interchangeable?

3) any special tips on installing a new spring?

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Chris

Originally posted by CK View Post
    1) Do I need to drain the crankcase oil out to take off the shifter cover plate?
    Maybe...meaning, if you can lean the bike to the right side similar to leanign left onto the kickstand, you can remove the shift cover without draining the oil. Otherwise, you will need to drain the oil.

2) It appears all models of the XS1100 share the same shifter spring part no. Are they all interchangeable?
    True, that is the same part on all XS11s as well as the XJ11. Yes, interchangable.

3) any special tips on installing a new spring?
    Really almost nothing to it. It sits behind the shift paw, tends to come out with the shift shaft when you pull the cover. It should be relatively intuitive how it goes in.