Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noob, doesn't really know where to start....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob, doesn't really know where to start....

Hello all, I know you have new people here all the time. I am new to the xs1100, and just picked one up, 1979 xs1100F, appears to be in pretty rough shape. No rear master cylinder, electric looks suspect. Carbs didnt appear complete, one of the float bowl posts is broken (appears may be usable as holds pin in place) and the post is missing. I dont know if the engine has compression, no kill switch. I took the carbs apart and started them in the ultrasonic cleaner, appears I may just be missing a few screws.

Where do I start? Any and all suggestions are helpful. I will be running pods as there is no airbox, and the side covers are gone. I want to keep the shocks on and would like to use this as a road bike.

I picked up for $300.00 so no complaints, just dont really know where to start, any and all input is great.

Thanks.
    79 XS1100F

Welcome to the site and to madness of XS11 ownership.

Where to start, well, start at the front and work your way to the back...or vice versa. Really though, look at THIS link. It is in the FAQ section of the site.

A few of the most common areas to need attention would include;

The factory fuse box, most folks upgrade to the new fuses. There is a tech tip on changing it out and the site admin Topcat (TC) orders the upgrade box in bulk and resells individually to members. Great deal and a nice product.

Second gear or first depending on the bike tends to get worn and skip. This is a tell tale sign that you will need to repair the gear. There is a tech tip on this also, called the dremmel repair.