Rear Tire Rubbing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear Tire Rubbing

Yes, it is back...well...never really went away I guess.

So, here is what I know and have tried. I have a spare set up of complete swingarm, brake, torque plate, spacer, wheel, and FD. All assembled, tire in spare runs fine. No rubbing. Put the same tire in the setup on the bike frame, rubs. This is true for both wheels/tires. I do notice that when I go to put the axle in, it is very tight getting the larger diameter section to go in the swingarm. I have to lift and push on the tire to get it aligned. At rest, so to speak, the axle is low and to the rear of the opening.

OK, so I swapped out wheels, same problem. Swapped out torque plates, same problem. Swapped out brake bracket, same problem, Swapped out FD, same problem. I am at my wits end with this. I thought I was a decent mechanic but this is just killing me.

Only thing I can think of is the rubber gromet the torque plate mounts into. Anyone have a pic of their torque plate properly mounted on that rubber gromet? Mine is VERY tight, and actually elongates the rubber, and must be driven on with a mallot. That is why I suspect it could be twisting the set up enough to cause the wheel to rub.

Any thought appreciated.
    Life is what happens while your planning everything else!

When your work speaks for itself, don't interrupt.

81 XS1100 Special - Humpty Dumpty
    80 XS1100 Special - Project Resurrection

Previously owned
    93 GSX600F
    80 XS1100 Special - Ruby
    81 XS1100 Special
    81 CB750 C
    80 CB750 C
    78 XS750

Still fighting that eh....

Originally posted by DGXSER View Post