Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Better Way to Polish Aluminum...

... or at least I think so....

Every time I've posted pics of some of my polished bike parts or even the SG I re-did last year, I always get questions about 'how did you get those parts so shiny?' Well, I just finished polishing most of the stuff for my current XJ project, so this time I documented how I do this. Now, even with my method you'll still have to put some time in and there's a definite money investment needed, but if you're willing to trade some money for time, this can reduce the amount of time needed a bunch. I've been polishing my own parts now for 4-5 years, and have settled on this way as taking the least amount of time while still getting good results. You have to make a tool investment, but this can save literally hours and hours of hand work...

If, like many here, you've got a bike that's 'cosmetically challenged', the paint and chrome are fairly easily dealt with. New paint if needed, and chrome polish on the chrome if it isn't rusted beyond hope. But that aluminum isn't so easy sometimes. Factory clearcoat that's bad or missing, oxidized surfaces, discoloration, or the worst, pitting. Any clearcoat will need to be removed, and just straight buffing won't always clean up bad surfaces, or takes forever. You can laboriously hand-sand the pieces, but deep surface problems are extremely hard to sand out.... there's gotta be a better way...

There is...

First, the tools needed.

Here's the real secret; surface conditioning discs AKA Scotchbrite, as seen to the left. These are made by a number of companies in 'standard' grits, I buy mine here: http://keenabrasives.com/Surface%20C...20Type%20R.htm. I'm sure you can find these locally also, but Keen has by far the best prices I've found. You need a bunch of 'em, you won't get by with just a few...