Yay Electrical troubleshooting! 82xj1100

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yay Electrical troubleshooting! 82xj1100

Ive been restoring this 82 xj1100 maxim for a few months now. I've just recently got down to the electrical. I've got 100% of everything, wires/relays connected correctly according to the electrical diagrams I've found.

The only problems i have remaining are Headlight does not work at all. The wires going to the bulb itself are feeding no power. The bulb itself works. I've installed a fresh fuse box with all new fuses. Tail light, both brake switches , turn flashers, hazards, instrument cluster all light up and function. i still can not get the headlight to come on.

Also are the front turn signals suppose to be on always? They do brighten when the hazards or turn signals are turned on, but they're on constant with the ignition is set to on or P2.

Lastly I have not gotten the bike to start yet. After a pass of general contact inspection and tinkering I was able to get the right side - under tank relay to actuate when turning the ignition on or off, but it just buzzes when the starter button is pressed and the starter motor does nothing. Jumping the main terminals on the starter solenoid does crank the engine. This is with a brand new battery(13.6v) and car jump starter/charger kit.

After attempting to fiddle with the starter relay(right side under tank) I ended up holding the starter button for 10~ seconds to see if the relay would commit and heard what sounded like a different relay near the battery kick and then the entire electrical went dead. Now jumping the starter motor does nothing even directly from the battery to the Lead wire to the starter motor. It seems like the bike is no longer grounded itself. Battery still read 13.6v :/

I could really use some help. Im new to this bike and not sure why its being such a butt.

Ok, you have some fairly typical problems.....