Young kid = stupid question..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Young kid = stupid question..

I have been getting good progress with my XS. New tires, put in the new fuseblock, rebuilt back caliper, wheel bearings done all around and many others.

The problem I'm having is putting the rear brake caliper back on, when I bought the bike it didn't have one so I have no knowledge of taking it apart, hence, I cannot for the life of me get it put back together. I'm afraid to push the piston in any further. Wrong pads?(ordered from newmotorcycleparts.com), wrong setup? Missing parts? Wrong technique? Or just young kid new to motorcycles? Haha. I looked at the clymer manual and the service manual with little help. Pictures are very welcome!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by Pancala; 03-23-2012, 09:32 PM.
    1979 XS1100F
    1980 XS1100SG(First bike, sold)

Other bikes
    1976 Kawasaki KZ400 (project)
    1983 Yamaha XV920 Midnight Special
    1984 Yamaha XT250 Enduro (project)

That caliper piston should squeeze in farther.
    Nathan
    KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
    K&N Filter
    #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
    OEM Exhaust
    ATK Fork Brace
    LED Dash lights
    Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
    SS Brake Lines
    Vision 550 Auto Tensioner

In any moment of decision the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing.

Theodore Roosevelt

Comment

Which XS would you be working on? There are many differences between models even if they be small.
      2-79 XS1100 SF
      2-78 XS1100 E Best bike Ever
      80 XS 1100 SG Big bore kit but not fully running yet.
      Couple of more parts bikes of which 2 more will live!

Comment

easy