Giving up on my XS1100H...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Giving up on my XS1100H...

So I have been fighting liaking carbs for at least 3 months and I have hit my breaking point. I have set the carbs to 81 specs, 80 specs and even 79 specs. These dam things are stressing me the hell out.
    1981 xs1100 venturer... Finally runs
    Still has carb issues, but runs
    For all of your Amsoil needs go to www.mrguysoil.com

Oops I miss spelled

Comment

First, is it the typical leaking out the air box, back of the carbs, and maybe into the crankcase? Or is the fuel leaking around the fuel Ts or the float bowls?

If its the typical spots, then one reason or another your float valves are not sealing. Could be floats, but the plastic ones that should be in your carbs are about indestructible.

Could be the O-rings around the seats, those are easy to replace by getting a set of nitrile o-rings at HF for about $5 or less and putitng new ones in there.

Could be the actual valves, you can new ones with new seats for not alot of money.

Now, I at one time had QUITE the time getting my carbs to quit leaking. Every time I installed them a different carb would leak. Sealed perfect on the bench, upside down and right side up. But mount them on the bike and one or more would leak. Ended up being the rubber auto style fuel line I was using. The soft rubber was getting shredded by the T fittings and little pieces of the rubber would get to the float valves and hold one open. I went to Home Depot and bought some Briggs and Stratton fuel line for a lawn mower, put that on and never had another problem with those float valves leaking.

Hopefully some of that helps you out. Ohh...and we do not count spelling here, that only counts in grade school.
      Life is what happens while your planning everything else!

When your work speaks for itself, don't interrupt.

81 XS1100 Special - Humpty Dumpty
      80 XS1100 Special - Project Resurrection

Previously owned