Turn signal hooped

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turn signal hooped

I've narrowed the electrical problem down to the turn signal itself. I'm not an electrician (and if you saw my other recent post, not a machinist either), so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. It can't be that difficult though...there's not a lot to the thing.

I checked resistance from the wire connector to the seat of the bulb and the meter went off the scale, which I believe to be appropriate. I checked it from the wire connector to the bulb housing and got nothing. I checked between the bulb seat and the housing and got nothing.

All of this I believe is correct, so my belief has got be wrong somewhere.

Where am I screwed up?

Thanks
    Bob
    1979 XS1100F

Hey Bob,

You didn't say whether you were talking about the front or rear, but since you stated 1 wire, I'm going to assume you meant the rear...the front has 2 wires for both running and turn signal. Please refer to the diagram below!

The bulb socket should be the NEGATIVE side, and so a continuity/resistance test from it to the base should show little/NO resistance. The WIRE you spoke of should be the POSITIVE, and so when you say the meter went off the scale...I'm assuming you meant that the meter was showing very high resistance or NO continuity...which is what it should be. ONLY if you had a bulb in the socket should you then get continuity=no resistance from the (+) wire end to the bulb casing/shaft.

You should find no resistance measuring from the bulb socket base to the signal housing. There is a connector/prong down on the INSIDE center of the bulb socket, that is the end of the POSITIVE wire, and you should get little/no resistance from the wire to that prong...it's insulated from the rest of the bulb socket!