Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Picket up 1979 XS1100 Today!

Hello All,
    This is my first post to the forum. I just picked up a 1979 XS1100. The bike seems to be in awesome shape. Everything is stock and there is almost now surface rust. The compression was tested 6 months ago and all cylinders were in the 130-140 range. I'll put some pics up tomorrow.

There is definitely tons of work today though.

1) The tank is incredibly rusty on the inside
    2) The carbs are the dirtiest I have ever seen

Tell me what you guys think about my plan of attack

For the tank I am going to go the electrolysis route. I have never done it before and I have heard the results are normally great.

For the carbs I am not sure what to do. Like I said, I will post picks tomorrow, but it is really bad. After removing the float bowls I saw that everything is covered in a blackish/green coat.

I do not have access to an ultrasonic cleaner, and my normal method of carb/choke cleaner and an air compressor will definitely not work here.

I was thinking about soaking the carbs in Berryman's Solvent. My only issue with this is that I would have to split the rack of carbs. I have done this on other carburetors and have had serious issues of leaks developing at the fuel joints between carburetors. How likely is that to occur for these carbs? I did not really see too many rubber parts. If I simply remove the slide diaphrams and the o-rings under the needle valve seat, could I soak the carbs in solvent without splitting the rack?

Thanks,
    Adam

Is that a standard or special? Where are you?
    79SF
    XJ11
    78E

Comment

I concur, dont split rack

Hi,

I think berrymans is regular carb cleaner , the caustic type, which will ruin any plastic and rubber orings that may remain with your assembly.