Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Picked up my first XS1100 this past weekend. Anyone in Bakersfield?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Picked up my first XS1100 this past weekend. Anyone in Bakersfield?

I now have an 79 XS1100 thanks to one of my buddies. I have been doing some extensive research the past few weeks knowing that he wanted it out.

I have a few general and specific questions. This is my first bike Ive actually owned. I have little experience with street motorcycles (more so with dirt and quads). My friend who sold it to me only had this bike for about 3 months or so and had hardly ridden it, but he did not too much of the mechanics of the older bikes when selling it to me (he has newer sportbikes only). Is there anything I should really know about this bike as far what would probably be common sense for vetrans of riding? I have read all of the links regarding info on maintenance, problems, etc.

Also, the bike did not come with any gauges. I read about a single digital gauge that would display speed/rpm/fuel/etc. Would the 79 be capable of using a digital gauge?

Thanks,

Mark.
    Mark - 1979 XS11 Standard (Pic 1, Pic 2) (Pic 3) (Pic 4)

Careful

For a first bike it's probably not the best choice. It's top heavy, and not for the inseam challenged. Like you probably have read here, shifts like a Russion tractor, but when you twist that throttle the excelleration is mind bogling and sh*t comes at you fast, plus these MC's don't corner as well as a sport bike and you really have to muscle it in the corners. Changing from a right hand corner to a left quickly takes some real muscle. These thing I've learned riding with my friend in the twisties. He rides a Suzuki GSXR 1000, 150 HP in a bike that weighs a little over 400 lbs is hard to keep up with.
    You can't stay young forever, but you can be immature for the rest of your life...

'78E "Pathfinder" Show bike...
    Lovingly restored by Dave Delzell
    Drilled airbox