Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 78 xs11

Hi All,
    I'm new here, and - whilst not an XS owner, am working with a shop in Austin TX. We have a customer 'dog bike' in right now, that he wants to build into a street racer. I have plenty of experience building Brit, and some Euro racers -- but, never tackled one of these rascals before!! My first idea is to do something of a KR replica TZ750 scheme -- and secondly, maybe a Rob North Trident?
    First thing we'll be looking at is changing out the complete front end - for a modern one -- upside down forks will be fine, along with decent discs -- maybe Brembo?
    Anyone here gone that route? Any suggestions about what will (& wont!!) work will be greatly appreciated. As and when we come up with a firm plan (and the go ahead!!) - I'll post progress pix!!
    Thanks in anticipation,
    Brid Caveney.

I have heard of a couple people I think using a busa front end. What it took to do it i do not know though.
    Nathan
    KD9ARL

μολὼν λαβέ

1978 XS1100E
    K&N Filter
    #45 pilot Jet, #137.5 Main Jet
    OEM Exhaust
    ATK Fork Brace
    LED Dash lights
    Ammeter, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, and Volt Meters

Green Monster Coils
    SS Brake Lines
    Vision 550 Auto Tensioner

In any moment of decision the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing.

Theodore Roosevelt

Comment

I think that someone did an FJR front end as well. I think there is even a thread on here about it.
      Cy

1980 XS1100G (Brutus) w/81H Engine
      Duplicolor Mirage Paint Job (Purple/Green)
      Vetter Windjammer IV
      Vetter hard bags & Trunk
      OEM Luggage Rack
      Jardine Spaghetti 4-2 exhaust system
      Spade Fuse Box
      Turn Signal Auto Cancel Mod
      750 FD Mod
      TC Spin on Oil Filter Adapter (temp removed)
      XJ1100 Front Footpegs
      XJ1100 Shocks